Local government in Poland


This article is part of the series:System and politicsPoland

Legal system

Constitution Political system


Sejm of the Republic of Poland

Members of the ninth term

Speaker of the Sejm: Elżbieta Witek

Senate of the Republic of Poland

Senators of the 10th term

Speaker of the Senate: Tomasz Grodzki

National Assembly

Executive power

President: Andrzej Duda

Prime Minister: Mateusz Morawiecki

Council of Ministers: Mateusz Morawiecki’s second government

Judicial authority


Supreme Court

First President: Małgorzata Manowska

Supreme Administrative Court president: Jacek Chlebny

Constitutional Tribunal president: Julia Przyłębska

Tribunal of State Małgorzata Manowska National Council of the Judiciary chairman: Paweł Styrna

State control

Supreme Chamber of Control Marian Banaś

Ombudsman for Civil Rights Protection Marcin Wiącek

Ombudsman for Children Marek Michalak

National Broadcasting Council Witold Kołodziejski


National Bank of Poland Adam Glapiński

Monetary Policy Council

Local government

Gmina self-government Poviat self-government Voivodeship self-government Administrative division of Poland

Political parties

Parliamentary clubs are formed or co-formed by:

Law and Justice

Solidarna Polska Republican Party

Civic Coalition

Civic Platform Modern Initiative Poland Green Party


New Left Left Left Together

Coalition Poland

Polish People’s Party Center for Poland Union of European Democrats

The parliamentary circles are formed and co-founded by:

Konfederacja Wolność i Niepodległość

National Movement Freedomists KORWiN Confederation of Polish Crowns

Polska 2050 Porozumienie

K’15 and Demokracja Bezpośrednia

Polish Affairs Polish Socialist Party

Groupings that did not cross the threshold in the 2019 Sejm elections:

Non-partisan Local Government Effective Action of Disappointed Pensioners Pensioners Right of the Republic.


Parliamentary elections: 2019

Presidential elections: 2020

Parliamentary elections: 2019

Municipal elections: 2018

Referendums: 2015

Foreign policy

Ministry of Foreign Affairs Minister: Zbigniew Rau

Ambassadors of Poland Diplomatic outposts Committee on European Affairs Parliamentary Committees on Foreign Affairs

Sejmowa Senacka

Polish Institute of International Affairs

Portal Poland

View collection of quotes Local government in Poland in Wikicytat

Local government in Poland – the structure of local government organized in Poland.


1 Introduction 2 Local government in the Polish Constitution 3 Levels of local government in Poland 4 History of local government in Poland 5 2015 Year of Local Government 6 Changes in 2018. 7 Notes 8 Footnotes 9 External links

Introduction[edit | edit code]

In Poland (following the example of other European countries), only part of local and regional tasks are carried out by government administration agencies, which directly (hierarchically) report to the Council of Ministers, the Prime Minister or individual ministers. The main part of administrative tasks, which are not of national importance, is carried out by local government. This is done by local government bodies, which are subordinate to the relevant local (commune, district) or regional (province) community and which represent its interests.

Local government in the Constitution of the Republic of Poland[edit | edit code].

Article 163 of the Polish Constitution stipulates that “Local government shall perform public tasks not reserved by the Constitution or laws to the bodies of other public authorities.” This article expresses the presumption of competence of local government.

Levels of local government in Poland[edit | edit code].

Since January 1, 1999, Poland has a three-tier structure of local government:

gmina self-government powiat self-government

voivodeship self-government.

History of local self-government in Poland[edit | edit code].

Separate article: Local self-government in the Second Republic.

From May 27, 1990 to December 31, 1998, local self-government existed only at the municipality level[a]. Local self-government also existed in the Second Republic and during the People’s Republic of Poland until 1950, when it was replaced by a system of national councils[1].

2015 Year of Local Government[edit | edit code].

In a resolution dated December 3, 2014, the Polish Senate decided to establish 2015 as the Year of Local Self-Government[2].

Changes in 2018[edit | edit code].

On November 10, 2017, the Sejm received a parliamentary bill on amending certain laws to increase the participation of citizens in the process of election, functioning and control of certain public bodies in municipalities, districts and provinces elected by universal suffrage, as well as the control of this process and bodies responsible for preparing and holding elections[3]. On December 14, 2017, the Sejm of Poland passed the proposed law[4], which was approved by the Senate on December 21, 2017, along with proposed amendments approved by the Sejm on January 10 and 11, 2018[3]. On January 16, 2018, Polish President Andrzej Duda decided to sign the adopted law on January 11, 2018, which introduces, among other things, amendments to the Election Code and local government laws[5][6]. The law introduces, among other things, bicameralism for mayors counting the first term of office from 2018, single-mandate electoral districts in municipalities with up to 20,000 residents, and extends the term of office of local government bodies from 4 to 5 years[6].

Share :

Leave your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *